Do you spend more time thinking about the future or the past? Why?

40 responses to “Do you spend more time thinking about the future or the past? Why?”

  1. I really don’t know. One might think, since I am 76, that I would spend a lot of time thinking about the past. I do have memories. Most are very good; some are not.

    I have enough going on in my life that I have no need to just sit and ruminate on the past. I keep up on current events; I’m taking piano lessons; right now I’m knitting for my grandkids; I make sleeping mats from plastic bags for the homeless; I’m involved with people at church, and have lunch dates now and then with friends. I’m as busy as I want to be.

    And I read a lot. The past is a great thing to remember, but I do not choose to live in my past. I’m perfectly content in my present 🙂

    Liked by 6 people

    1. This is very wise. Live in the present..

      Like

  2. I think of the past more often. I realized that I made the same mistakes several times without noticing or realizing.

    Having said that has been enabling me to watch the present and look forward to a future with learned mistakes.

    I still look for the future with hope, expectations and dreams. I hope that aging won’t stop me for looking for a better tomorrow.

    Happy 2024 everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. With my head in the future, I often have one foot in the past. After all, nothing erases the history that we built. The future that is responsible for transforming what we experienced into history.

    https://josivandroavelar.com.br/bloganuary-005-cabeca-no-futuro-um-pe-no-passado/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Strange, when I click your link, it takes me to creating a new post for my own website? Is it just me? Or a bug?

      Like

  4. These are such great prompts! Thank you, Mindy!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Probably about the same of both, which is a lot! I’m highly-prone to nostalgia and think, write, an explore the past a lot… but I’m also very focussed on what’s to come, the direction of technology, humankind’s impact on the world, etc. If anything, I merely neglect the present at the expense of the past and future… that’s a concerning thought!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Domanda da un milione e mezzo di secondi.
    Che dire, tra un presente e l’altro fanno capolino passato e futuro come il sale nell’acqua e l’olio nella pasta. Ogni quotidiano ha il suo fardello da sbrigare, tuttavia esso è certamente farcito e condito del prima e del dopo, per cui il qui e ora è un continuum con ieri e domani nel ricordare e nel progettare anche perché la vita non procede per recinti definiti e assolutismi ma come uno srotolarsi continuo per cui le distinzioni “passato-presente-futuro” sono fittizie quando invece è reale la percezione della vita nel suo dispiegarsi nei cicli dinamici e circadiani del sistema solare come di tutti gli altri universi possibili, trascendendo il meramente immanente e transeunte solcando le correnti del divenire in ogni sua forma.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Es el futuro: El futuro no es algo que nos acecha o nos amenaza, sino algo que podemos construir y disfrutar. Depende de nosotros cómo lo afrontamos y cómo lo vivimos.

    It is the future: The future is not something that haunts us or threatens us, but something that we can build and enjoy. It depends on us how we face it and how we live it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. This is me, also! It’s the only thing that matters.

      Like

  8. […] Posted on Jan 5, 2024 by On Being Stoic Do you spend more time thinking about the future or the past? Why? […]

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Since I have spent many years in the past, it is most likely the past I think of most. However, thinking is NOT dwelling. I often think of the future on a paradise Earth, like foretold in the Bible. -Revelation 21:4

    Liked by 1 person

  10. […] to get me going for January, Bloganuary.  Day 5: Do you spend more time thinking about the future or the past? […]

    Like

  11. […] Do you spend more time thinking about the future or the past? Why? […]

    Like

  12. Definitely the future! Sometimes, I just imagine how I’d like my future look like and other times I stress over the things that haven’t even happened yet (and probably won’t).

    If you’re like me, then check out a few exercises I wrote down that can help you stay grounded in the present moment. 🙂

    Balancing Past Lessons & Future Dreams: How to Live in The Moment

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I spend more time thinking about how our present can shape the future than I do thinking about the past. https://wayfaring9.wordpress.com/2024/01/06/early-morning-in-suburbia/

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Here is my response for today’s prompt:

    A Look into the Past
    https://ericarobbin.com/a-look-into-the-past/

    Like

  15. Today’s Bloganuary post is based on the prompt: “Do you spend more time thinking about the future or the past? Why?” Let’s jump in!

    Bloganuary: Do You Spend More Time Thinking About the Future or the Past? Why?

    Like

  16. I see a few others who think the same way as me. I like to live neither in the past nor the future, but in the present…

    Day Five of Bloganuary: My past, my future… my present

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Past, future, and living in the present

    This is my post from today I meant to share it but I’ve been sick 🩷

    Like

  18. Definitely more the past, unfortunately. It’s something that I work hard at everyday, the windshield is larger than the rear view mirror for a reason. Working on being a more positive and mentally healthy and physically person is a very large goal of mine.
    P.S. I’m new around here 😎

    Liked by 2 people

  19. I sometimes think about the good things that happened in the past, but those challenging times in the past stays in my memory too.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. There is the bustling Town of Yesterday, then there is the sprawling metropolis always in flux of being built and many of us choose to put one foot in each forgetting completely of the tiny village of NOW which is actually where we utilise the experiences of that Town to build the bricks for the framework of the Metropolis of The Future…. Being present gifts us our future and perspective of what can be achieved and of course… the present is ever moving / changing with each choice that is the brick of a decision….

    Like

Leave a comment